OSINTverse

Courses

OSINT courses, compared before you pay

A course is the expensive way to learn and the one most people finish. These write-ups cover delivery, labs, instructors, freshness, and certificates, so you can tell a six-day investment from a weekend one.

Before you choose

Five questions before you pay for a course

  1. 01

    Does it make you do the work?

    Watching someone search is not learning to search. Look for labs, scenarios, or graded exercises with real effort behind them.

  2. 02

    Does the instructor still practise?

    Platforms change monthly. Instructors who still run cases update their material; instructors who stopped in 2019 teach 2019.

  3. 03

    When was it last updated?

    Platform-specific content rots in 12 to 18 months. The course page should say when the material was last refreshed.

  4. 04

    What does the certificate get you?

    A few certifications are recognised by hiring managers. Most completion certificates are a line on LinkedIn. Pay for the skill, not the PDF.

  5. 05

    Could a free option get you most of the way?

    Free, self-guided programs cover the fundamentals well. Take one first, then pay for the course that teaches what you still cannot do.

Loading the directory…

Side by side

Every course at a glance

Cost is a model, not a price. Time is the commitment before it pays off. Updated is the latest edition or issue we could verify.

ResourceCostLevelTimeUpdatedDeliveryCertificate
OSINT DojoSinwindie, independentFreeBeginnerWeeksSelf-paced. Each rank has a minimum time before you can advance, so the full path takes a year or more by design.Live site, 2026; resource list partly datedSelf-guided tasks and quizzesVerified digital badges per rank
My OSINT TrainingMicah Hoffman and Griffin GlynnFree + paidAll levelsHoursFifteen minutes to four and a half hours per course. The core bundle is about sixteen hours; the full library is over fifty.Catalogue maintained; a 2025 updates course existsSelf-paced video, one year of accessNot stated on the catalogue
Kase ScenariosEspen Ringstad, Aaron Roberts, and teamFree + paidAll levelsDaysA beginner scenario takes an evening or two; advanced ones take several days of real work. The provider does not publish hour counts.New scenarios announced in 2026Self-paced scenario challengesNot stated
Bellingcat WorkshopsBellingcat researchersPaidIntermediateDaysOnline courses run four hours a day for two or three days. Deep dives are five full days in person.New dates listed monthly through 2026Live online or in personPDF certificate on request
SANS SEC497: Practical Open-Source IntelligenceMatt Edmondson, SANS InstitutePaidIntermediateDaysSix days in person or live online, or about 36 hours on demand with four months of access.Scheduled through 2027; SEC487 retired after 20226 days live, or on demandGIAC Open Source Intelligence (GOSI), separate exam
OSINT At HomeBenjamin Strick, Centre for Information Resilience
FreeBeginnerArchived
FreeBeginnerHoursA few hours for the whole series, best spread over a week with practice between videos.Videos from roughly 2020 to 2022Recorded videoNone
Gralhix OSINT ExercisesSofia SantosFreeAll levelsHoursThirty minutes to a few hours per exercise depending on difficulty. Working through all 32 is a project of several weeks.32 exercises; latest added in 2025Text exercises with walkthroughsNone
TryHackMe OSINT roomsTryHackMe and community authorsFree + paidBeginnerHoursThirty to sixty minutes per room. The free set is a weekend of work.Topic page current in 2026; some rooms refreshed in 2024Guided browser rooms with flagsRoom completion certificates on paid tiers
Introduction to OSINTCentri, formerly Security Blue TeamFreeBeginnerHoursAbout five hours.Provider rebranded to Centri in 2026; course currentSelf-paced online lessonsCompletion certificate after the final exam, historically
Open-source Intelligence (Basel LEARN)Basel Institute on Governance, International Centre for Asset RecoveryFreeBeginnerHoursShort sessions you can spread over a week or two. The institute does not publish a total hour count.Launched 2022; still listed in 2026Interactive eLearning around one caseCertificate of completion after the final report
OSINT FundamentalsHeath Adams, TCM Security AcademyPaidBeginnerHoursNine hours of video. Plan a weekend or two with the lab exercises.Academy platform current in 2026; course update date not statedSelf-paced video with labsCompletion certificate; separate practical exam (PORP)
SANS SEC587: Advanced Open-Source IntelligenceMatt Edmondson, SANS InstitutePaidAdvancedDaysSix days live, or about 36 hours on demand with four months of access.Major overhaul December 2024; scheduled into 20276 days live, or on demandGIAC Strategic OSINT Analyst (GSOA), hands-on exam
IntelTechniques Online OSINT TrainingMichael Bazzell and team, IntelTechniquesPaidAll levelsWeeksOver a hundred hours of video. Plan months, not a weekend.New videos monthly; pricing updated 2026Self-paced video and PDF manualOSIP, a 10-day practical mission, separate fee
OSINT Combine AcademyOSINT Combine, now part of KasewarePaidAll levelsHoursHour counts per course are not published. Expect an evening to a weekend per module.Catalogue re-priced into modules; new AI courses 2026Self-paced video, 12 months access; some liveCertificate of completion per course
Toddington International OSINT TrainingToddington International, CanadaPaidAll levelsWeeksLive courses are two full days. Self-paced courses range from twenty to seventy hours each.Live dates through early 2027; e-learning update dates not stated2-day live remote, or self-paced e-learningNot stated on course pages
DFRLab Digital SherlocksDigital Forensic Research Lab, Atlantic CouncilFreeIntermediateWeeksAbout three months, with two to three live sessions a week and a minimum attendance for the certificate.2026 cohort running; applications closed in May 2026Live online cohortYes, with minimum attendance

FAQ

Questions, answered

Do I need a paid course to work in OSINT?

No. Plenty of working analysts learned from free programs, books, and CTFs. A paid course buys structure, feedback, and speed, and sometimes a certification an employer asks for.

Which OSINT certification is worth having?

The GIAC Open Source Intelligence certification tied to SANS SEC497 is the one most often named in job listings. Most other certificates show effort rather than open doors. Choose the course for its content first.

How long does it take to get competent?

With steady practice, a few months to be useful on simple cases and a year or more to be trusted with hard ones. Courses compress the first part; nothing compresses the second.

Learned the method? Practise it on real data

The resources above teach the craft. When you want to run real lookups across breach, people, domain, and crypto sources without opening a dozen vendor accounts, that is what SearchIn is for.

  • Free account, no card
  • Credits never expire
  • Refund unused balance in 7 days